Day 3. Evening

9:43

Hubs was late. And even though he let me know he would be leaving late and then let me know that he had left, I was severely pissed. We had a plan for dinner this evening, and he fucked it up.  Grrr. I think “kill all the things” (days 4/5) may have started a little early…

Our evening was quite nice actually, we enjoyed our second dinner together with Lamb; she enjoyed her own dinner as well as some of ours. And, my dinner was quite yummy and very filling! I had twice baked breakfast potatoes. They’re marketed as a breakfast dish, but take 2+ hours to prepare, so that puts them squarely in the dinner category for me. It’s been a while since I spent time to make a really yummy meal for myself (Hubs declined when I told him what was on the menu this morning, his loss). Recipe here, but the gist of it is:

Bake sweet potato, cool and scoop out innards.

Fry bacon, then cook onions and garlic in bacon fat.

Cut up bacon; add back to onions along with potato innards.

Mix and mash together.

Scoop back into potato skins.

Make a well and crack an egg into each well. Bake for 15 minutes.

So you’ve got to bake the potato first and let it cool which takes at least an hour, and then you still have about 30min of prep and cooking left to do. Even baking the potatoes ahead of time, I wouldn’t make this for breakfast. But, it was entirely delicious and I will definitely be making it again for a dinner or lunch!

IMG_6140

I didn’t go out today, so I was able to get Lamb down earlier for her nap – as a result we didn’t have our snack until she woke up, around 4:45. However I think I did better today for a couple of reasons:

  1. I made sure to have my morning snack.
  2. I watched less TV. I think the strain on my eyes makes my headaches worse.
  3. I listened to my head instead of my heart/stomach.

I made a nice, big snack for us to share. It consisted of blueberries, strawberries, raspberries, ½ banana and a pouch of almond butter. Lamb had her own little dish. She ate everything except the beans – no surprise there!

 IMG_6137

Not much else to say… It’s late and we’re FINALLY watching Sunday’s Worse Chef in America.

GoodNIGHT!

Leave a Reply

